Numbers are People Too

JoLynne Martinez
10 min readAug 23, 2021
Cartoon of numbers depicted with human characteristics such as eyes and clothes
Copyright: sabelskaya | Used by permission | Image processed through Google’s Deep Dream Generator

Most of my life I’ve said I’m bad at math.

Eventually, however, I realized it’s not math in general. Specifically I’m bad at arithmetic. The problem is that the numbers have such strong personalities. They won’t shut up, and they keep resisting when I’m trying to manipulate them in even the simplest of equations.

Don’t believe me? You go talk with 2 when it’s dawdling about joining 8 in an equation…

--

--

JoLynne Martinez

One of the top 50 design writers here on Medium. Specializing in coverage of digital accessibility. https://jolynnemartinez.github.io/